There are numerous fascinating sights for tourists interested in history. The Viitasaari Church in Haapasaari and the Orthodox chapel offer opportunities for quiet contemplation and a rest.
The Huopanankoski rapids are among Finland’s oldest recreational fishing rapids. They are also a nationally significant cultural environment and a locally significant cultural landscape. The Huopanankoski rapids, in Viitasaari, have become famous through writer Juhani Aho’s work.
The Javelin Museum, which is the only museum of its kind in the world, offers you the history of Finnish javelin. The museum is located next to Kultakeramiikka Oy in the Putaanportti area in Pihtipudas and is open throughout the year. A statue of a javelin thrower stands in the main stadium.
Lassi Urpilainen’s statue stands close to the Kangaskylä school junction, approximately four kilometres from the Kinnula centre towards Lestijärvi.
You will find hundreds of wood carvings, statues and pictures presenting life in the olden days in the art hall. Open during the summer months.
Karoliinan Portaat, the natural stairs in Kymönkoski, are hard to negotiate and have been named after their user, Karoliina Raatikainen (1848-1918).
The stone dual-arch bridge over River Heinäjoki is located in the Pihtipudas centre. It was completed in 1924. The Heinäjoki Bridge was a part of road E75 until 1962. In 1982, it became a museum bridge.
Professor Lauri Tahko Pihkala's statue is located in front of the Pihtipudas municipal offices. In Sallila Park, you will find a pioneer statue erected to honour Finnish men clearing bog land for farming, and Sallila’s girl statue is located outside the health centre.
Porthan Park is located in the centre of Viitasaari, next to Lake Keitele. It was named after Henrik Gabriel Porthan, who is said to be the father of Finnish history. In the park, you will also find memorials for Porthan and Niilo Hämäläinen, as well as the summer café, Porthan Puiston Lottamaja. There's also a separate play area for younger children.
Tuulensuu is one of Finland’s most significant artist residences maintained by a private patron. The Tuulensuu Sculpture Park is open year-round.
The church was built during the famine of 1864–1867. Construction was led by Otto Korkiakoski, a master builder from Sievi, who is said to have drawn the plans for the church on a plank. The church is of a harmonious cruciform design, decorated with many wood carvings. The church has two altarpieces.The first one is from the 1910s, and the other one was made by Esko Töyrylä in the 1950s.
The church, which was completed in 1874–1875, was designed by architect Theodor Decker in the neo-Gothic style.
The small wooden cruciform church of Pihtipudas, dating from 1783, is the oldest church in Central Finland still in use. The master builder was Simon Silvén from Kalajoki. The Muurasjärvi village has its own church, which was designed by architect Esko Laitinen and completed in 1963. Furthermore, Finland’s first Church of silence for travellers is located in Elämäjärvi, in Pihtipudas.
The Tervamäki chapel is a haven of good music and a variety of smaller and bigger events. The chapel offers a unique setting for concerts, retreats, weddings, memorials and conferences. It is located on a scenic spot by Lake Keitele in Suovanlahti in the Viitasaari municipality.
Viitasaari’s striking cruciform church is located in Haapasaari, a walking distance from the town centre. The church was designed by architect T.H. Granstedt. In 1925, the church was repaired in accordance with Architect Alvar Aalto’s designs; the latest fairly major repair was carried out in 1989. The church is open during the summer months on weekdays; you will also find a guide in the church during the opening hours. During the rest of the year, the church is open by appointment.
The Tsasouna of Viitasaari, located in Haapasaari, was dedicated to the Transfiguration of Christ.
The Kinnula Local Museum’s attractions include old Ostrobothnian style houses such as a 19th century farmhouse with its barns and sheds and utensils. The museum's speciality is a reconstructed wartime dugout. Open during the summer months.
The Kivijärvi Local Museum is based in an old granary, located in the centre of the village. The old two-storey granary, with a floor space of 380 m2, was built in 1858. The downstairs has eight separate grain silos, and the upstairs is one big open space. There is an old barn in the yard outside. Open during the summer months.
The old Valoharju School building in Kivijärvi functions now as a school museum. One of the classrooms has been restored as an old-fashioned classroom, with various different objects related to school life. Open during the summer months.
The Pihtipudas Museum of Local History is located in the old granary next to the church. With its about 700 artefacts, the museum depicts the cultural and local history of Pihtipudas. Open in summer. At other times by arrangement. For further information, please contact Pihtipudas-Seura ry, tel. +358 (0)207 931 621.
The bird watching and observation tower in Kivijärvi was built in the locals' old meeting place next to Tyrävuori and by Lake Pieni Perkausjärvi.
This six-metre observation tower offers scenic views of Lake Kivijärvi. The tower is located in Vietsaari, and there is a trail that leads to it from the car park on Vietsaarentie.
The Keihärinkoski Observation Tower stands on the highest point of Luotolansaari Island, at the top of Täivuori Hill. The wooden observation tower, which is 12 metres high, was built in 2004. There is a road all the way there. A 1-km nature trail is also situated in the area.
The Savivuori Observation Tower in Viitasaari is in a magnificent spot on top of Savivuori hill, which is 71 metres from lake level and 171 metres from sea level. The observation tower and the café on the ground floor are open 13.6.- 2.8.2015 10am-5pm.
The Forestry Museum located in Savivuori, Viitasaari, showcases logging techniques and tools used in forestry in olden times. You can also see several dwellings, including a forest lodge, a horse stable, a smoke cabin, a granary and a windmill. Open in summer. For enquiries, please contact cultural affairs manager Jorma Rihto, tel. +358 (0)44 459 7570.
Pyhä Puu, the sacred tree, is a unique memorial in Central Finland. It is located in Tikankangas, 10 km from Kinnula’s centre towards Silkkiperä and from there towards Koirasalmi. There are signposts to the tree from Kontumäki Road.
The memorial for those young men who left to go to the Winter War in 1939-40 is located in the market place in Kinnula’s centre. Here, the local brave men gathered before leaving for war in 1939.
Follow us on facebook.